Image

Arrrgh! A Pirate Party

My youngest is a bit of a tomboy and she wanted a Pirate Party. So that is what the little buccaneer received. Many ideas inspired through Pinterest. Here is my board.

078
035

Pinterest has really ruined me. I can no longer have a normal play in the backyard party with cake and a piñata. Now it has to be a production. Why? Good question.
I was once told the success of a party begins with the invitation’s ability to set a good impression so here is the invitation. I am pretty proud of it. I printed it up on scrapbook paper that kind of looked like a paper bag. Then, I burned the edges… carefully. The paper burns really fast if you aren’t paying attention.

001

002

I purchased those adorable bottles from Oriental Trading. http://www.orientaltrading.com/skull-and-crossbones-invitations-in-a-bottle-a2-25_4949.fltr?Ntt=pirate

They were PERFECT!
Now onto decorations. I made most of the decorations with my cricut and the Life’s A Party cartridge. I purchased some fish netting off of Amazon.com and again from oriental trading treasure map placemats (which I had laminated)love them.
145

143

118

DSCN2204

We celebrated in the pool, or err, I mean the lagoon and went on a hunt for pirate treasure. I made up rhyming clues which lead us to the booty. I had pictures of the clue locations for the really young kids but the bigger kids enjoyed it as well.

pirateclues

The treasure chest was created with one of those Styrofoam coolers and some spray paint. Super Cheap and looked good too.

046

045

The treasure chest treat boxes inside the cooler also came from oriental trading. Pretty much love that website.

Here are the cupcakes. I did not bake them or frost them. I didn’t need the pressure of baking that many cupcakes and have them taste good. I just went to Walmart. That’s right, no shame. I got the whipped frosting and asked if they could make the frosting look like sand. The wrapper and flags were created from the Life’s A Party Cartridge as well. To get the antique look I took an ink pad and gently rubbed it on the edges. It was time consuming but totally worth it.

048

2 thoughts on “Arrrgh! A Pirate Party

  1. Rachael says:

    I have the Life’s A Party Cartridge and am also going to make the cupcake wrappers, but can you tell me what you sized them to in order to cut them? 🙂

Leave a Reply

